MANDATORY DISCLOSURES : ANTI-RAGGING MEASURES

In view of the directions of the Honorable Supreme Court in SLP No. 24295 of 2006 dated 16-05-2007 and in Civil Appeal number 887 of 2009, dated 08-05-2009 to prohibit, prevent and eliminate the scourge of ragging including any conduct by any student or students whether by words spoken or written or by an act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness a fresher or any other student, or indulging in rowdy or undisciplined activities by any student or students which causes or is likely to cause annoyance, hardship or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in any fresher or any other student or asking any student to do any act which such student will not in the ordinary course do and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame, or torment or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of such fresher or any other student, with or without an intent to derive a sadistic pleasure or showing off power, authority or superiority by a student over any fresher or any other student, in all higher education institutions in the country, and thereby, to provide for the healthy development, physically and psychologically, of all students, the All India Council for Technical Education,(AICTE) brings forth these Regulations.

What constitutes Ragging: - Ragging constitutes one or more of any of the following acts:
  • Any conduct by any student or students whether by words spoken or written or by an act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness a fresher or any other student.
  • Indulging in rowdy or undisciplined activities by any student or students which causes or is likely to cause annoyance, hardship, physical or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in any fresher or any other student
  • Asking any student to do any act which such student will not in the ordinary course do and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame, or torment or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of such fresher or any other student.
  • any act by a senior student that prevents, disrupts or disturbs the regular academic activity of any other student or a fresher.
  • exploiting the services of a fresher or any other student for completing the academic tasks assigned to an individual or a group of students.
  • any act of financial extortion or forceful expenditure burden put on a fresher or any other student by students.
  • any act of physical abuse including all variants of it: sexual abuse, homosexual assaults, stripping, forcing obscene and lewd acts, gestures, causing bodily harm or any other danger to health or person.
  • any act or abuse by spoken words, emails, posts, public insults which would also include deriving perverted pleasure, vicarious or sadistic thrill from actively or passively participating in the discomfiture to fresher or any other student.
  • any act that affects the mental health and self-confidence of a fresher or any other student with or without an intent to derive a sadistic pleasure or showing off power, authority or superiority by a student over any fresher or any other student.

Actions to be taken against students for indulging and abetting ragging:

  • The punishment to be meted out to the persons indulged in ragging has to be exemplary and justifiably harsh to act as a deterrent against recurrence of such incidents.
  • Every single incident of ragging a First Information Report (FIR) must be filed without exception by the institutional authorities with the local police authorities.
  • The Anti-Ragging Committee of the institution shall take an appropriate decision, with regard to punishment or otherwise, depending on the facts of each incident of ragging and nature and gravity of the incident of ragging.
  • Depending upon the nature and gravity of the offence as established the possible punishments for those found guilty of ragging at the institution level shall be any one or any combination of the following
    • Cancellation of admission
    • Suspension from attending classes
    • Withholding/withdrawing scholarship/fellowship and other benefits
    • Debarring from appearing in any test/examination or other evaluation process
    • Withholding results
    • Debarring from representing the institution in any regional, national or international meet, tournament, youth festival, etc.
    • Suspension/expulsion from the hostel
    • Rustication from the institution for period ranging from 1 to 4 semesters
    • Expulsion from the institution and consequent debarring from admission to any other institution.
    • Collective punishment: when the persons committing or abetting the crime of ragging are not identified, the institution shall resort to collective punishment as a deterrent to ensure community pressure on the potential raggers.
  • An appeal against the order of punishment by the Anti-Ragging Committee shall lie,
    • In case of an order of an institution, affiliated to or constituent part, of the University, to the Vice-Chancellor of the University;
    • In case of an order of a University, to its Chancellor.
    • In case of an institution of national importance created by an Act of Parliament, to the Chairman or Chancellor of the institution, as the case may be.
  • The institutional authorities shall intimate the incidents of ragging occurred in their premises along with actions taken to the Council form time to time.
School of Business Management
  • Director: Jasani Centre of SE & SM (Chair)
  • Associate Dean: PSLE
  • Chair: Student Activities
  • Program Chairs: MBA PT, MBA PT-SE, PhD, MBA, EFB, PM,HR, DSA, REM, MBA, E&FB
  • Police Member (Mr. Avinash Bairagi)
  • President Student Council Members
  • Deputy Registrar (Convener)
  • Audrey D'Mello, (NGO: Majlis)
  • Parent Member
Mukesh Patel School of Technology Management & Engineering
  • Dr. Alka Mahajan (Chairperson) – alka.mahajan@nmims.edu
  • Dr. Anuja Agarwal (Member Secretary) – anuja.agarwal@nmims.edu
  • Dr. Seema Shah (Member) – seema.shah@nmims.edu
  • Mr. Avinash Bairagi (Member - Police) - avinash1310.ab@gmail.com
  • Ms. Jayshree Dhabaria (Member) – contactvyf@gmail.com
  • Mr. Rajesh Udawat (Member) – rajeshudawat72 @gmail.com
  • Dr. Ajay Phirke (Member) - ajay.phirke@nmims.edu
  • Dr. Manjusha Joshi (Member) - manjusha.Joshi@nmims.edu
  • Ms. Anjali Barmukh (Member) – anjali.barmukh@nmims.edu
  • Mr. Hemant Kolambe (Member) – hemand.kolambe@nmims.edu
  • Ms. Chetna Shah (Member) – chetna.shah@nmims.edu
  • Ms. Rhea Gupta (Member (Lady Representative of Student Council Team) rheagupta.nmims@gmail.com
  • Mr. Kumar Narayan Singh (Member)
  • NGO representative
Anti-Ragging Squad
1. Dr. Manoj Sankhe

Chairperson

Manoj.sankhe@nmims.edu

2.     

Prof. S. Nagalakshmi

Member Secretary

S.Nagalakshmi@nmims.edu

3.     

Prof. Kamal Mistry

Member

Kamal.Mistry@nmims.edu

4.     

Prof. Samadhan Deshmukh

Member

Samadhan.Deshmukh@nmims.edu

5.     

Dr. Vinita Khatri

Member

Vinita.Khatri@nmims.edu

6.     

Prof. Deoyani Joshi

Member

Deoyani.Joshi@nmims.edu

7.     

Prof. Sumita Nainan

Member

Sumita.Nainan@nmims.edu

8.     

Prof. Gaurav Londhe

Member

Gaurav.Londhe@nmims.edu

9.     

Prof. Yashodhan Karulkar

Member

Yashodhan.Karulkar@nmims.edu

10.   

Mr. Ravikumar Bellary

Member

Ravikumar.Bellary@nmims.edu

 

Shobhaben Pratapbhai Patel School of Pharmacy & Technology Management
  • Dr. Saritha Shetty
  • Dr. Mayur Yergiri
  • Dr. Haresh Raulgaonkar
  • Mr. Avinash Bairagi (Police Authority)
  • Dr. Sanjeev Kumar (Parent)
  • Dr. Christine D’Lima (Lady Representative of Student Council Team)
  • Ms. Rupali Vaidya (NGO-Project Mumbai)
Balwant Sheth School of Architecture
  • Dr. Meena Chintamaneni, Chairperson (meena.chintamaneni@nmims.edu)
  • Mr. Paramanand Rajwar, Member (paramanand.rajwar@nmims.edu)
  • Mr. Venugopal K., Member (venugopalk@nmims.edu)
  • Shri Harshad Shah, Member (harshad.shah@svkm.ac.in)
  • Mr. Samraj Dhasian, Member (samraj.dhasian@nmims.edu)
  • Prof. Seema Mahajan, Member (seemam@nmims.edu)
  • Mr. Avinash Bairagi, Member (Police) (avinash1310.ab@gmail.com)
  • Dr. Christine D’Lima Member (Lady Representative of Student Council Team)
    christine.dlima@nmims.edu
  • NGO representative
Sunandan Divatia School of Science
  • Dr. Neetin Desai (Chairperson) – neetin.desai@nmims.edu
  • Mr. Sunil Shirvaiker    Member – sunil.shirvaiker@nmims.edu
  • Dr. Purvi Bhatt            Member – purvi.bhatt@nmims.edu
  • Dr. Gurudas Mane      Member – gurudas.mane@nmims.edu
  • Dr. Mansi Bhartiya      Member – mansi.bhartiya@nmims.edu
  • P.I. Dilip Dahingade    Member (Police Authority) – ps.juhu.mum@mahapolice.gov.in 022-26184308
  • Dr Suprabha Raorane Member (NGO) 
  • Ms. Nikita Arora          Member (Lady Representative from Student Council) nikitaarora452@gmail.com
  • Mr Sanjay Upadhye    Member (Parent) s.upadhye@yahoo.com
Sarla Anil Modi School of Economics
  • Dr. Meena Chintamaneni, Chairperson (meena.chintamaneni@nmims.edu)
  • Mr. Paramanand Rajwar, Member (paramanand.rajwar@nmims.edu)
  • Mr. Venugopal K., Member (venugopalk@nmims.edu)
  • Shri Harshad Shah, Member (harshad.shah@svkm.ac.in)
  • Mr. Samraj Dhasian, Member (samraj.dhasian@nmims.edu)
  • Prof. Seema Mahajan, Member (seemam@nmims.edu)
  • Mr. Avinash Bairagi, Member (Police) (avinash1310.ab@gmail.com)
  • Dr. Christine D’Lima Member (Lady Representative of Student Council Team)
    christine.dlima@nmims.edu
  • NGO representative
Anil Surendra Modi School of Commerce
  • Prof. Sangita Kher – In-charge Dean (sangita.kher@nmims.edu)
  • Dr. Akshay Damani    Member (akshay.damani@nmims.edu)
  • Dr. Sunny Oswal        Member (sunny.oswal@nmims.edu)
  • Dr. Arshia Kaul            Member (arshia.kaul@nmims.edu)
  • Mr. Bhavesh Barot      Member (bhavesh.barot@nmims.edu)
  • Mr. Avinash Bairagi    Member (Police)        
  • Dr. Christine D’Lima   Member (Lady Representative of Student Council Team) christine.Dlima@nmims.edu
  • Mr. Vishwas Nangare Patil (Joint Commissioner of Police, Mumbai City)  
  • Anjali Dave Member (Parent Representative)
  • NGO representative
School of Distance Learning
Anti-ragging Committee at hostels
  • Shri Bhupesh Patel - Managing & Executive Committee Member, SVKM - bhupesh.patel@svkm.ac.in
  • Shri Harshad H. Shah - Managing & Executive Committee Member, SVKM - harshad.shah@svkm.ac.in
  • Prof. Seema Mahajan - Director-Centre for Family Business & Entrepreneurship Management - seemam@nmims.edu
  • Mr. Paramanand Rajwar – Paramanand.rajwar@nmims.edu
  • Mr. Venugopal K – venugopalk@nmims.edu
Anti - Ragging Committee: SVKM’s NMIMS, Navi Mumbai Campus
  • P. N. Mukherjee, Director (Chairperson) – parthasarathi.mukherjee@nmims.edu
  • Ruchita Verma, Dean, SoHM, (Member) – ruchita.verma@nmims.edu
  • Prof. Mukund Madhav Tripathi, (Member) – mukundmadhav.tripathi@nmims.edu
Anti-Ragging Squad, Navi Mumbai Campus
  • Prashant Barsing (Member) – prashant.barsing@nmims.edu
  • Aditya Kasar (Member) – aditya.kasar@nmims.edu
  • Prof Manisha Band, (Member) – manisha.band@nmims.edu
  • Dr Ketan Chande, (Member) – ketan.chande@nmims.edu
  • Anupriya Sharma, (Member) – anupriya.sharma@nmims.edu
Anti - Ragging Committee: SVKM’s NMIMS, Indore Campus
  • Prachi Gharpure, Director (Chairperson) – prachi.gharpure@nmims.edu
  • Aaquil Bunglowala (Member) – aaquil.bunglowala@nmims.edu
  • Niranjan Shastri (Member) – niranjan.shastri@nmims.edu
  • Vikas Khare (Member) – vikas.khare@nmims.edu
  • Akshay Joshi (Member) – akshay.joshi@nmims.edu
  • Gaurav .P. Moghe – (Member) – gaurav.moghe@nmims.edu
Anti - Ragging Committee: SVKM's NMIMS, MPTP Shirpur Campus

 S. No.

Position

Designation

Name of Staff

Contact No.

1.

Chairperson

Director, SVKM’s NMIMS-MPTP

Dr. Akshay Malhotra

02563-295545/46

2.

Representative of Civil

Social Activist

Ms. Asha Rajesh Bagul

9822630389

3.

Representative of Police

PSI, Police Station, Shirpur

Mr. Sandip Murkute

9595738349

4.

Local Media

Reporter, Punyanagari

Shri. Kishor Mali

7588001662

5.

Govt. Employee

DHO - Doctor

Shri. Prasanna Kulkarni

9422769102

6.

Member

Dean, SAST

Dr. Suseelendra Desai

02563-295545/46

7.

Member

Associate Dean, MPSTME

Dr. Kamal Mehta

02563-295545/46

8.

Member

Associate Dean, SPTM

Dr. Ajazuddin

02563-295545/46

9.

Member

Associate Dean, CTF

Dr. Arup Rakshit

02563-295545/46

10.

Member

Chief Accountant & Administrator

Mr. Rahul Dande

02563-295545/46

11.

Nodal Officer

Deputy Registrar

Mr. Rajeev Dalal

02563-295545/46

12.

Member

Security

Mr. Ravi Kumar Lama

02563-295545/46

13.

Member

Rector, Boy’s Hostel

Mr. Shree Prasad

8806759888

14.

Member

Rector, Girl’s Hostel

Ms. Prerna Soni

7448243446

15.

Member

Parent Representative

Mr. Jakir Ahmd. Shaikh Nazir

9423288385

16.

Member

Parent Representative

Mr. Nitin Choubey

9284299654

17.

Member

Student Council

Mr. Gaurav Kunder, MPSTME

02563-295545/46

18.

Member

Ms. Shambhavi Gupta, MPSTME

02563-295545/46

19.

Member

Mr. Tarun Rajpurohit, SPTM

02563-295545/46

20.

Member

Ms. Vanshika Slathia, SPTM

02563-295545/46

21.

Member

Mr. Rohit Nile, SAST

02563-295545/46

22.

Member

Fresher Students Representative

Mr. Kush Lalit Bhamre

9021034547

23.

Member

Fresher Students Representative

Ms. Vaishnavi Nitin Choubey

9028309127

Anti-ragging Committee At Hyderabad Campus
  • Dr. Silla ramsundar - Chairperson – silla.ramsundar@nmims.edu
  • Dr. Radhakrishna G – Chairperson – g.RadhaKrishna@nmims.edu
  • Dr. Santosh Yele, Member – santosh.yele@nmims.edu 
  • Dr. Ashish Kumar Biswas – Member - ashishkumar.biswas@nmims.edu 
Anti-ragging Committee At Bangalore Campus
  • Dr. Deepak Sharma – Chairperson   
  • Dr. Neha Chhabra Roy – Member
  • Dr. Bhaskaran Sambasivam – Member
  • Mr. Vishnu Bhat – Member
  • Dr. Sreeleakha P. – Member Secretary
© Copyright 2020. Shri Vile Parle Kelavani Mandal (SVKM) All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

The NMIMS School of Business Management (SBM) has released the Merit List for its MBA Programmes for all campuses, including Business Analytics and Digital Transformation. Applicants should login to their student dashboard for details.